Illinois State University
Jump over the site's masthead's navigation bar.
Jump over the site's left-side navigation bar.

Music Audio and Scores

Audio

Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
Streaming access to audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. DRAM's collection contains nearly 2,300 albums and more content is continually being added.

Naxos Music Library
Provides online access to the Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 500,000 tracks, from more than 37,00 albums on 170+ labels. Genres included are predominately all periods of classical music, jazz, world, folk and chinese music. Works may be selected by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can be created. Updated continually.

Scores

African-American Sheet Music
1,305 pieces of African-American sheet music from 1850 through 1920
Part of the Library of Congress American Memory series.

American Memory Collection--Library of Congress
Select Performing Arts to connect to thousands of pieces of early American sheet music
available online from the Library of Congress

Bach Complete Works
Bach Gesellschaft edition, completely digitized.

CD Sheet Music

Study and performance scores of the major repertoire. Index available at the Learning Resource Center on the sixth floor of Milner Library. CD's for in library use only, save scores to your memory stick.

Chopin Digital Collection
Selected editions of scores from the National Library in Warsaw.

Choral Public Domain Library
Thousands of pages of choral music in the public domain accessible by composer, period, solo voices, number of voices, and accompaniment.

The Classical String Quartet, 1770-1840
A digitized collection from Duke Univeristy of approximately forty collections of string quartets, with parts, representing composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions.

International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) and Petrucci Collection
An internet collaborative music library dedicated to providing scores free of charge.

Juilliard Manuscript Collection
An extraordinary collection of 138 music autograph manuscripts, sketches, engraver’s proofs and early editions from Bach to Warlock, donated to Juilliard.

Luck's Music Library
Catalog of orchestral scores available for purchase or rental

Lully, Jean-Baptiste
About 30 rare 17th- and 18th-century scores of operas and ballets by the 17th-century French composer Jean-Baptiste Lully and his sons from the University of North Texas.

Milner Sheet Music Collection

A collection of several hundred popular songs from approximately 1890 to 1950. Ask at the sixth floor reference desk for more infomation about this collection.

Neue Mozart-Ausgabe
The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe.

Music in Print(emusicquest)
Music in print series for the following categories: sacred choral, classical vocal, orchestral,
string, classical guitar, woodwind, and piano

Mutopia
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain.

Orchestral Music Online
Based on the fourth edition of the printed reference work Orchestral Music: A Handbook. Orchestral Music Online provides access to information on more than 6700 works by some 900 composers including duration, instrumentation, movement titles and publishers.

Sam DeVincent Collection of American Sheet Music
Index by title, composer, subject, first line, performer to approximately 24,000
pieces of sheet music, songbooks, and folios

Score on Line
Subscription service with some free scores available

Sheet Music Collections
Access to sheet music databases and collections in libraries

Sheet Music Project-Wiki
Free access to nearly 35,000 scores from a variety of sources.

Ask a Milner Librarian

Shortcuts

Face book Twitter You tube Flicker Instagram Milner Library Podcasts

Give Us Feedback

Milner Library
Campus Box 8900
201 North School St.
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Phone: 309.438.3451

Disability Accommodations

 

Last Updated: 8/16/12