Illinois State University
Jump over the site's masthead's navigation bar.
Jump over the site's left-side navigation bar.

Shared Governance at Milner Library

The participation in the shared governance of Milner Library occurs through faculty and staff participation in college and university councils and committees as well as faculty meetings.

Library Council

According to Library Council Bylaws, the purpose of the Council:
In accordance with the constitution of Illinois State University and these Bylaws, the Milner Library Council shall act as the official body through which all library personnel participate in shared governance in such areas as strategic planning, community-building, and creation of campus partnerships. The Council also understands the practice of shared governance to occur in discussions and actions related to policies and procedures, curriculum integration, the allocation of positions, and the development of new services. All Council discussions and recommendations are advisory to the Dean of Milner Library, who will report rationale for the acceptance or non-acceptance of these recommendations.


Grace Allbaugh (FY18-19) - Vice-Chair
Angela Bonnell (FY17-18)
Marisa Brooks (FY17-18)
Stephanie Campbell (FY18-19) - Secretary
Sue Franzen (FY17-18)
Jen Johnson (FY17-18)
Becca Maree (Fall 17) - student representative
Sandy Roe (FY18-19) - Chair
Angie Stegemann (FY18-19)
Shari Zeck (ex officio) - Interim Dean of Milner Library

College Faculty Status Committee (CFSC)

According to part IV of the Illinois State University Faculty Appointment, Salary, Promotion and Tenure Policies document:
The CFSC shall review Department/School policies and procedures for appointment, reappointment, performance evaluation, promotion, tenure, and post-tenure reviews with authority to ensure conformity to College standards and University policies and procedures. The CFSC shall review Department/School policies and procedures for the allocation monies devoted to performance evaluated salary increments. These policies and procedures are left to the discretion of each Department/School, but the CFSC shall review them for clarity,and fairness, and internal consistency.

Maureen Brunsdale (FY17-18)
Kathleen Lonbom (FY18-19)
Dallas Long (Chair)

Milner Library College Faculty Status Committee College Standards document is available on the Library's staff intranet.

Department Faculty Status Committee (DFSC)

According to Appendix I of the Milner Library Department Faculty Status Committee Criteria for Appointment, Evaluation, Salary Distribution, Promotion and Tenure document:
The DFSC shall be responsible for conducting pre-tenure reappointment reviews, and for providing pre-tenure faculty with individualized timelines for their probationary periods; conducting annual performance evaluations of faculty; reviewing faculty members’ professional activities and performance for purposes of promotion, tenure and post-tenure reviews; and review of this Criteria document and leading faculty in discussion of any needed changes.


Chad Buckley (FY18-19)
Julie Murphy (FY17-18)
Vanette Schwartz (FY18-19)
Eric Willey (FY17-18)
Chad Kahl (Chair)

Milner Library Department Faculty Status Committee’s Criteria for Appointment, Evaluation, Salary Distribution, Promotion and Tenure is available on the Library's staff intranet.

Non-Tenure Track Evaluation Committee

The purpose of the non-tenure track evaluation committee is to serve as an advisory group to the Dean in the event of unresolved disagreements between a non-tenure track faculty member and the direct supervisor with regard to the non-tenure track faculty member's evaluation. In the case of an unresolved disagreement, the non-tenure track faculty member may request that the committee review all evaluation materials submitted. The committee then writes a report to submit to the Dean.

Danielle Futoran (FY17-18) - Chair
Angela Yon (FY18-19) - Vice-Chair
Joe Zumalt (FY17-18)

Faculty Research and Development Committee (FRDC)

FRDC’s charge, activities and members can be found on the committee's web page.

Academic Senate / Academic Senate Standing Committees

Standing Internal Senate Committees
Academic Senator / Executive Committee / Faculty Caucus / Academic Affairs Committee - Kathleen Lonbom (FY15-18)

Standing External Senate Committees

Academic Freedom, Ethics, and Grievance Committee - Chad Buckley (FY17–19), Patrice Prud'homme (FY18), Alexis Wolstein (FY18)
Academic Planning - Chad Kahl (FY15–18)
Administrative Selection Committee (Panel of Ten) - Sandy Roe
Council for Teacher Education - Sarah French (FY18–20)
Council on General Education - Jim Cunningham (FY16–18)
Faculty Review Committee - Jean MacDonald (FY16–19)
Reinstatement Committee - Sarah French (FY16–18)
Textbook Affordability Committee - Eric Willey
University Curriculum Committee - Patrice-Andre Prud'homme (FY14–20)
University Hearing Panel - Sue Franzen (FY17–18)
University Review Committee - Angela Bonnell (FY17–19)
University Service Awards Selection Committee - Eric Willey (FY17–18)

Other Campus Committees

Intellectual Property Committee - Dallas Long
Office of Academic Technologies, Leadership Team - Paul Unsbee
School of Music Curriculum Committee - Anne Shelley
University Assessment Council - Jean MacDonald
University Research Council - Chad Kahl
University Teaching Committee - Jennifer Sharkey

Ask a Milner Librarian


Face book Twitter You tube Flicker Instagram Milner Library Podcasts

Give Us Feedback

Milner Library
Campus Box 8900
201 North School St.
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Phone: 309.438.3451

Disability Accommodations


Last Updated: 10/17/17